Our purpose is to support owners in their use and maintenance of the Porsche 928 and to foster camaraderie among owners throughout the world.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the 928 Owners Club Forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

TOPIC: New to the Houston 928 community - Car stopped running

New to the Houston 928 community - Car stopped running 03 Jul 2017 19:21 #19853

• DennisFitz
  • Junior Forum Member
Hello! I’m new to the 928 community here in Houston. I have a 1981 928 – it is in great shape and a blast to drive. It has a basic engine, no charger or turbo and it has been running great for the past year. The other day while driving it just cut-out and the engine stopped. There was nothing wrong with the starter, battery, engine would “crank” fine, but I got no smell of gas, as if nothing was getting to the engine. I had a new fuel filter and fuel pump in my spare bag, so I changed them out one at a time.
After changing the filter didn’t help, I changed the fuel pump, the engine started on the first try. I thought my problem was solved. After about 2 hours though, it stopped again and would not start.
Now I am looking for either new ideas, or a great, inexpensive place to take it and trouble shoot.
Anybody know of a good place in the Houston area? Or any troubleshooting steps that could help me narrow down what could be wrong?
I would appreciate any help you’all can provide.

P928.jpg
The administrator has disabled public write access.

New to the Houston 928 community - Car stopped running 05 Jul 2017 11:14 #19855

• Rich928
  • Administrator
Hello Dennis,

You have a very nice looking Porsche 928. I suggest the following: