Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/registry/public_html/plugins/system/jumi/jumi.php on line 25

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/registry/public_html/plugins/system/jumi/jumi.php on line 29
928 Owners Club Forum :: Topic: Rear defroster relay location (1/1)
Our purpose is to support owners in their use and maintenance of the Porsche 928 and to foster camaraderie among owners throughout the world.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Rear defroster relay location

Rear defroster relay location 24 Mar 2016 02:33 #18877

Hello, everyone. I'm a newbie to the forum. Glad to have found it! I had googled for answers to why my 928 battery is constantly draining and I came across this forum in a web search. So here I am. :) I hope I can eventually contribute to the site as my experience with my 928 grows.

Meanwhile, I read that one potential problem with the electrical drain is in the rear defroster relay. I'd like to yank it and see if that doesn't help solve the problem of my battery draining within a week or two if I don't drive the car. Can anyone please tell me where this relay is found—or if anyone has figured out a magic bullet of sorts for the '84s and battery drainage problems. I have a new alternator and battery, and I'm out of business if I don't start and run her pretty regularly. My mechanic, meanwhile, can't seem to find the problem.

Thanks so much!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rear defroster relay location 24 Mar 2016 10:00 #18879

• Kiln_Red
I would advise that you disconnect the battery ground strap while the car isn't in use until the parasitic drain is resolved. There are many likely sources for drains. Diagnosing them can be a challenge as often times the drains are on circuits that aren't fuse protected.

The normal current draw is between 20-30mA.